Members of KSUIF have learned to additionally educate themselves outside of the Kent State curriculum, whether it be looking online for useful websites or helpful youtube channels.

It is important to know all of the specific positions available for film or television projects, from pre-production to the premiere.  To find where your personal strengths are, it is important to do a little research on specific jobs and positions that interest you. Here at KSUIF, we provide hands-on experience in every department of filmmaking during every step of a project. Here are a few helpful supplements that we recommend to get you more immersed in this exciting profession!

General Filmmaking Articles & Tips:

No Film School: https://nofilmschool.com/

Film Riot: https://www.youtube.com/user/filmriot

How To Film School:http://howtofilmschool.com/

Guide to Cinematic Terms: https://seatup.com/blog/guide-to-cinematic-terms

Film Production Positions & Hierarchy:

Crew Positions PDF: crew-roles-and-departments-guide

Chain of Command PDF:chain-of-command0

Pre-Production Tools

Celtx – Online Scriptwriting Studio: https://www.celtx.com/

Final Draft – Script Writing Software: https://www.finaldraft.com/

Lynda.com Videos:

Transitioning from Photo to Video

Chad Perkins: Creating Short Films From Start to Finish

Rich Harrington: Anything You Can Think Of

Filming in Ohio:

Ohio Film Office: https://development.ohio.gov/filmoffice/default.html

Greater Cleveland Film Commission: http://www.clevelandfilm.com/

Youngstown Film Commission: http://www.youngstownfilmcommission.com/

Columbus Film Commission: http://filmcolumbus.com/

SAG/AFTRA Ohio & Pittsburgh: https://www.sagaftra.org/OP

Set Design & Props:

Prop Master Secrets: https://bit.ly/2IN40Ta

Line Producing & Unit Production Manager:

Line Producing: http://lineproducing.com/

Unit Production Management: http://getinmedia.com/careers/unit-production-manager

Locations:

CLE Film Commission Location Database: https://bit.ly/2rLGIlY

Lighting Grip & Electric:

Grip Tips Youtube Channel:https://bit.ly/2GlZi9E

101 Grip & Electric Tips: http://howtofilmschool.com/101-grip-electric-tips-to-live-by/

Film Festival Submission Sites:

Film Freeway: https://filmfreeway.com/